Our Mission
- IOPL is a multi-partisan, non-profit educational institution formed to improve the practice of democracy in North Carolina. IOPL develops the political skills of North Carolinians with potential to be the state's future political leaders, exchanging ideas in a politically, culturally, and philosophically diverse climate.


Leadership Programs
Fellows Program

Fellows Program

The IOPL Fellows Program consists of 11 weekends and involves seminars and hands-on activities in a variety of different areas related to running for office …

IOPL Women on Board

Women on Board

Appointed leaders play key roles in state and local government and oversee a broad array of policy areas and functions, ranging from education and healthcare …

Collegiate Leadership

Collegiate Leadership

The IOPL Collegiate Political Leadership Program is a one-day workshop designed to develop the political skills of North Carolina college students with potential to be …

Applications Accepted Now
We educate future political and community leaders in modern campaign strategy, ethical decision making, and governance.
Fellows exchange ideas in a politically, culturally, and philosophically diverse climate, building relationships with current and future leaders.
  • Events TBA
Eventbrite Events:
IOPL Announces Graduation of 52nd Class of Fellows
Posted on by Deb Kelly -

Greensboro, NC – The North Carolina Institute of Political Leadership graduated its 52nd class of Fellows on Saturday, May 9, 2015 on the campus on …

IOPL Featured in Greensboro News and Record
Posted on by Deb Kelly -

Nonprofit: Learning to be nonpartisan political leaders Posted: Wednesday, June 3, 2015 2:11 pm By Ruth D. Anderson Special to News & Record For 11 …