Pictured L-R: Lauren Pritchett, Maria Cervania, Marvette Coley, James Estes, Winn Decker, Pam Wall, Jessica Kozma Proctor, Alicia Phillip, Trace Larabee, Chaunte Garrett and Katherine Rodgers


Greensboro, NC – The North Carolina Institute of Political Leadership graduated its 58th class of Fellows on Saturday, May 5, 2018 on the campus of the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

The Institute is a non-partisan, non-profit leadership organization founded in 1987 to improve the practice of democracy in North Carolina. Its mission is to educate future political and community leaders in modern campaign strategy, ethical decision making, and governance, such that its participants will have a sound grounding in ethical behavior, consensus building, and cooperative and collaborative leadership. No other program in North Carolina offers such a comprehensive curriculum in strategic non-partisan political leadership development.

Fellow Pamela Wall delivered the invocation, followed by Fellow Chaunte Garrett who delivered remarks on behalf of the class. The Honorable Craig Horn, a member of the NC House of Representatives, gave the commencement speech.

NC IOPL offers two annual Fellows classes in spring and fall. Graduates of the fifty-eighth class will join an alumni network of more than 1,100 graduates of the NC IOPL Fellows Program, individuals who have served and continue to serve the citizens of North Carolina.

The graduates of the 58h class of Fellows are as follows:


Maria L. Cervania Cary
Marvette Coley Wilson
John W. Decker Raleigh
James T. Estes Raleigh
N. Chaunte Garrett Raleigh
Trace Larabee Raleigh
Alicia C. Phillip Charlotte
Lauren Pritchett Raleigh
Jessica Kozma Proctor Raleigh
Katherine A. Rodgers Winston-Salem
Pamela Wall Sanford