NC Institute of Political Leadership Graduates 59th Class of Fellows


Pictured:  L-R:  Aaron Kohrs, Julia Robinson, Nathan Click, Kendra Maynard, Phyllis Russell, Tyran Hill, and Paul Packard


Greensboro, NC – The North Carolina Institute of Political Leadership graduated its 59th class of Fellows on Saturday, December 1, 2018 on the campus of the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.


The Institute is a non-partisan, non-profit leadership organization founded in 1987 to improve the practice of democracy in North Carolina.  Its mission is to educate future political and community leaders in modern campaign strategy, ethical decision making, and governance, such that its participants will have a sound grounding in ethical behavior, consensus building, and cooperative and collaborative leadership.  No other program in North Carolina offers such a comprehensive curriculum in strategic non-partisan political leadership development.


Fellow Phyllis Russell delivered the invocation, followed by Fellow Tyran Hill who delivered remarks on behalf of the class.  The Honorable Patrice Hinnant, former Superior Court Judge, gave the commencement speech.


NC IOPL offers two annual Fellows classes in spring and fall.  Graduates of the fifty-ninth class will join an alumni network of more than 1,000 graduates of the NC IOPL Fellows Program, individuals who have served and continue to serve the citizens of North Carolina.

The graduates of the 59th class of Fellows are as follows:


Nathan Click                      Morrisville

Tyran Hill                            Cary

Aaron Kohrs                       Hickory

Kendra Maynard               High Point

Paul Packard                      Hickory

Julia Robinson                   Greensboro

Phyllis Russell                    Winston-Salem